Bruno The Simplest Line Follower – The Workshops :)


This post comes after I bumped into a video I should have posted along with the tutorial on this robot. As I said in that tutorial, the robot (I named it bruno later) was made for a workshop. This workshop was held two and a half years back and was a huge success considering the last minute planning and the limited help we had. Here is a video of me at the workshop which I happened to find on youtube today. Can’t believe I forgot this one. Here you go…

This was organized by me and my friends Bharath, Vadiraj, Anoop and Kishore and many volunteers in my batch. The success rate at that time was I believe, 17/25 i.e. 17 robots worked at the end of the workshop. We had a follow up session about a week later for the remaining teams. A year later my classmate Bharath and juniors Nagesh and Sudarshan conducted a way more improved version. Sudarhsan and Nagesh were volunteers during the first workshop. The success rate improved to 22/30. This one was way more organized and the kits were packaged better. We had a much larger organizing team. Finally the most recent was the robotics workshop conducted a month back by Suraj, Nagesh, Varun, Amit, Yatish and others. This was again better than the previous with a success rate of 26/29. I just thought of this post when I saw that first video. Good times :). Here are some pics(click for a larger size):

Workshop 1

The Team:

  • Bharath
  • Vadiraj
  • Anoop
  • Kishore
  • Nagesh
  • Sudarshan
  • Karthik MS
  • Akshay Bharadhwaj
  • Karthik Kumar
  • Avinash BP
  • Pramod Bhushan
  • Vaibhav Bhat
  • Arpit Jain
  • Ashwith Rego

Workshop 2

The Team:

  • Bharath
  • Nagesh
  • Sudarshan
  • Pramodh Bhushan
  • Vaibhav Bhat
  • Nikhil Kulkarni
  • Aditya KP
  • Avinash
  • Aneesh
  • Karthik MS
  • Ajitchandra
  • VarunR
  • Rashmi
  • Tejashree
  • Shaheel
  • Ashwith Rego

And finally, Workshop 3

The Team:

  • Suraj
  • Amith M V
  • Sowmithreya
  • Rashmi
  • Sachin Nayak
  • Krishna
  • Varun R
  • Lavanya Naik
  • Nagesh
  • Yatish
  • Smitha
  • Shwetha
  • Sahana
  • Shilpa
  • Pramod
  • Naveen

Before I end, here are three things I’d like to tell those who want to get into robotics and think its too hard…

In my second year, I attended a similar workshop at MS Ramaiah Institute of Technology (MSRIT). While that workshop was good, it had too many participants in a huge hall and it was hard for the organizers to manage everyone. Not many robots worked in the end. Mine was one of them. I lost interest in robotics after that and felt it wasn’t meant for me. A year and a half later, I built this robot again and organized and conducted the first of the three workshops with the help of my friends!

Why did we start these workshops? Well it goes back to a few months after the workshop at MSRIT. We had our department fest and like all electrical, electronics, etc.. fests, there was a robotics competition. Any guesses on who won? Final years with loads of experience in making robots? Some electronics students who are experts in it? Engineers? Nope not even that. The winners were two students from the 12th standard – one studying biology and the other commerce! If you think that’s a shocker, beat this – we had a team of students from the 7th standard as well (they did have help but I didn’t even know about these kind of robots at that time)! Anyways. After that we realized we need to help our juniors get into robotics if they were interested and thats how the idea of the workshop started.

In the first robotics workshop we weren’t very organized. The idea came up late and we had so little time. Not many were interested in IEEE back then. Except for the Electrical department HOD, Dr. Ravishankar Deekshit and Girish Sir from the MCA department, we didn’t know teachers who would support us (our fault actually. We never asked). So we were assuming that only the students from the higher semesters will be able to do the robot. Guess who finished first? A team from the first year of which one student, Suraj, conducted the third workshop!

So robotics is easy to learn, interesting and you see results. It also adds to your résumé. So get on with it! ;).

My apologies if I’ve excluded anyone’s name here in the list of teams. Email me if you volunteered and your name isn’t there. I’ll add it to the list :). Well I’ve had a lot of fun at these workshops (and become and much better circuit debugger) and can’t wait for the next one. If you are someone who attended this workshop or has made such a robot (other robots would be great too), post links and/or videos in the comments section. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

